Online Databases

  • These online resources are provided by the Library and the NJ State Library. Login with your library barcode number.


Do a quick search of multiple databases for articles and information:

Research databases
Limit Your Results

See an A-Z list of all of our databases

Submit a request for the full text of a magazine or journal article.


Databases by Subject:

Biography

Bloom’s Literature -examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

History Research Centersearch all Infobase History databases for biographical information.

Literary Reference Center – provides author biographies, and information on literary works, including book reviews, literary criticism, and plot summaries.

Middle Search Plusprovides full text for popular, middle school-level magazines, as well as biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Science Online – presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

World Almanac for Kids Online – contains biographical, career, history, science, and readers’ advisory resources.

World Book – an online encyclopedia of articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps.

Academic Search Premier – the world’s largest academic multi-subject database, offering magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.

Books & Authors

Bloom’s Literature -examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

Literary Reference Center – provides author biographies and information on literary works, including book reviews, literary criticism, and plot summaries.  Sources include journals, books, and encyclopedias.  Also includes full text of many poems and short stories.

NoveList Plus – a reader’s advisory database that provides subject heading access, reviews and annotations for both fiction titles and nonfiction titles; and custom created articles and lists, including read-a-likes and book discussion questions.

Scholastic’s BookFlix – BookFlix pairs classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic.

Scholastic’s TrueFlix – TrueFlix is an online resource that helps students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of subject-area content, and cultivate 21st Century skills through the inquiry process.

Business Information

See our Business Research page for additional resources.

Business Source Premier – full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.

Reference Solutions (formerly Reference U.S.A.) – directory information on millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and residences. Search for businesses by category, size and geographic location. Search residences by name, location and phone number.

Regional Business News -full text coverage for regional business publications for the US and Canada. Coverage include franchise restaurants, the retail industry, and business planning.

ROSEN’s Financial Literacyfrom personal finance and entrepreneurship to market economics and globalization, Financial Literacy makes economics and finance readily comprehensible and highly engaging. Articles explore macro-, micro-, and global economics as well as personal and household finance. Users will learn to manage credit and debt, invest with confidence, plan for retirement, and avoid fraud and scams. Ideal for students in grader 7-12.

Job Seeking & Career Development

Computer Skills Center – video courses to learn Word, Excel, and other popular software programs; introductory videos for new computer users covering the internet, email, and social media.

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center – provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, advice on career skills and much more.

Job & Career Accelerator – create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, prepare for related exams and access millions of job listings.

LearningExpress Library – online learning resource for academic and career development. Work on basic skills improvement in reading, writing, math, and basic sciences and test preparation for career testing.

Peterson’s Test and Career Center – helps students and adults be betrer prepared for both college and career, with comprehensive test prep and career solutions.

Reference Solutions (formerly Reference U.S.A.) – search for information on millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses, by category, size and geographic location.

Children’s Resources

Primary Search
Full text for popular magazines for elementary school research.

Scholastic’s BookFlix
Pairs classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic.

Scholastic’s ScienceFlix
ScienceFlix combines curriculum-driven, leveled content, interactive features, and intuitive navigation into a single, highly-engaging digital resource for students in grades 4 through 9.

Scholastic’s TrueFlix
TrueFlix is an online resource that helps students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of subject.

World Almanac for Kids Online
Provides resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills. Contains biographical, career, history, science, and readers’ advisory resources.

World Book
Online encyclopedia of articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps.

Español

Referencia Latina – A comprehensive Spanish-language database, offering access to magazines; encyclopedias; images; health reports; and a Spanish-English dictionary.

Encyclopedias

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia – provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

World Almanac for Kids Online – provides resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills. Contains biographical, career, history, science, and readers’ advisory resources.

World Book -online encyclopedia of articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps

Educators’ Resources

Curriculum Resource Center – provides a library of printable teacher-handout materials for middle school, high school, and junior college curriculum.

ERIC – provides access to education journals and resources.

Teacher Reference Center – provides indexing and abstracts of journals and magazines for professional educators.

Genealogy & Local History

Ancestry Library Edition – genealogical and historical information from census, military, church, vital, court, land and probate records, passenger lists and more. Beginning January 1, 2022, you will need to visit the Library to access Ancestry.  

Fold3 – Fold3™ Library Edition by Ancestry provides convenient access to military records, containing millions of records from world-class archives, many of which are exclusively available on Fold3.

HeritageQuest – a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids, with coverage dating back to the 1700s.  

Historical Newspapers – New Jersey Collection = search these NJ newspapers:

  • Asbury Park Press (Asbury Park, NJ)—1905-2009
  • Courier News (Bridgewater, NJ)—1891-2010 (1961-2010 available now)
  • Courier-Post (Cherry Hill, NJ)—1949-2009
  • The Daily Journal (Vineland, NJ)—1925-2011
  • Daily Record (Morristown, NJ)—1974-2012
  • Home News Tribune (East Brunswick, NJ)—1903-2009
  • Plainfield Courier (Plainfield, NJ) -1891-1961

Joint Digital Archives of Scotch Plains and Fanwood – access newspapers, yearbooks, ephemera, and more from Scotch Plains and Fanwood history.

Government & Legal

Legal Information Reference Center – online full text for many consumer legal reference books, and thousands of legal forms.

Military & Government Collection – includes news and scholarship related to all branches of the U.S. military and government. It includes academic journals, popular magazines, trade publications, and military publications.

Health

Find more resources on our Health Information page.

Health Reference Center – provides clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.

Health Source: Consumer Edition – provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition – a full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.

Teen Health & Wellness – provides middle and high school students with up-to-date, nonjudgmental, straightforward curricular, and self-help support.

Academic Search Premier -the world’s largest academic multi-subject database, offering magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.

History & Social Sciences

Find additional information on our History Research page.

Academic Search Premier -the world’s largest academic multi-subject database, offering magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.

African-American History Online – provides information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.

American History Online – spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.

American Indian History Online – offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage.

American Women’s History Online – covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women’s history in the United States.

Ancient and Medieval History Online – explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.

History Research Center – search all Infobase History databases.

MasterFILE Premier – a multi-subject database providing full text sources including magazines, primary source documents, reference books, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Modern World History Online – covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from mid-15th century to the present.
Images

Points of View – provides background, timelines, and pros and cons about a wide range of timely and sometimes controversial issues.

ROSEN’s Digital Literacy – Digital Literacy informs and inspires learners about key digital literacy and cyber citizenship topics including entrepreneurship and careers; communication, cyberbullying, and safety; privacy and ethics; research skills and tools for the digital age; social networking; and gaming. Ideal for students in grades 7-12.

World Geography & Culture Online – combines detailed, printable, full-color maps of countries, provinces, and states with up-to-date statistical and local information.

Homework Help & Test Prep

See our Academic Help and Children’s Homework Help pages for more information.

Tutor.com – offers live homework help, and resources for test prep from the Princeton Review.

LearningExpress Library – offers skill-building resources for middle school, high school, and college students and prep help for GED, AP, ACT, SAT, PSAT, and TOEFL, CLEP and graduate school admissions tests.

Peterson’s Test and Career Center – helps students and adults be better prepared down the road for both college and career, with comprehensive test prep and career solutions.

Languages

See our Language Learning page for additional resources.

Mango Languages – an online language learning program that offers access to 60 foreign language courses and 17 English courses taught completely in the user’s native language.

Magazine, Newspaper & Journal Articles

Academic Search Premier
The world’s largest academic multi-subject database, offering magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.

Historical Newspapers – New Jersey Collection
Search these NJ newspapers:

  • Asbury Park Press (Asbury Park, NJ)—1905-2009
  • Courier News (Bridgewater, NJ)—1891-2010 (1961-2010 available now)
  • Courier-Post (Cherry Hill, NJ)—1949-2009
  • The Daily Journal (Vineland, NJ)—1925-2011
  • Daily Record (Morristown, NJ)—1974-2012
  • Home News Tribune (East Brunswick, NJ)—1903-2009
  • Plainfield Courier (Plainfield, NJ) -1891-1961

MasterFILE Premier – a multi-subject database providing full text sources including magazines, primary source documents, reference books, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Newspaper Source Plus – provides a full-text digital collection of the world’s major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

The Star Ledger – read a full-color digital image of the daily paper; also search the text files of articles dating back to 1989.

U.S. Major Dailies
Search and read full text articles from the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times; Washington Post; The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune.  The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives as far back as 1985. This database is available on the ProQuest platform.

People Locator

Reference Solutions (formerly Reference U.S.A.) – directory information on millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and residences. Search residences by name, location and phone number.

Science & Technology

Academic Search Premier – the world’s largest academic multi-subject database, offering magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.

GreenFILE – covers environmental topics such as global warming, alternate fuel sources and more. Scholarly and general interest sources, as well as government documents and reports.

MasterFILE Premier – A multi-subject database providing full text sources including magazines, primary source documents, reference books, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Science Online – Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Scholarly Resources

Academic Search Premier – The world’s largest academic multi-subject database, offering magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.

GreenFILE – Covers environmental topics such as global warming, alternate fuel sources and more. Scholarly and general interest sources, as well as government documents and reports.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts – Covers subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, information retrieval, information management and more.

OpenDissertations – Records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.