Databases

Databases A – Z  | Databases by Subject


Databases A – Z

A   B  C  D   E    F  G  H   I   J   K   L  M   N   O P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z



A

Academic Search Premier
The world’s largest academic multi-subject database, offering magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.

African-American History Online
Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Provides patient education sheets for generic and brand name drugs.  Updated monthly and available in both English and Spanish.

American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933 – 1955
Provides electronic access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during that time period.

American History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.

American Indian History Online
Offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage.

American Women’s History Online
Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women’s history in the United States.

Ancestry Library
Genealogical and historical information from census, military, church, vital, court, land and probate records, passenger lists and more.

Ancient and Medieval History Online
Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.

back to top



B

Bloom’s Literary Reference Online
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

Business Source Premier
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.

back to top



C

Computer Skills Center
Video courses to learn Word, Excel, and other popular software programs; introductory videos for new computer users covering the internet, email, and social media.

Corfacts NJ Businesses–in library
Online business directory of nearly 65,000 New Jersey businesses

Corfacts NJ Businesses–remote usage
Online business directory of nearly 65,000 New Jersey businesses

Curriculum Resource Center
Provides a library of printable teacher-handout materials for middle school, high school, and junior college curriculum.

back to top



E

ERIC
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides access to educational journals, reports and other documents.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

back to top



F

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 48,000 resource entries, and much more.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

back to top



G

GreenFILE
Covers environmental topics such as global warming, alternate fuel sources and more. Scholarly and general interest sources, as well as government documents and reports.

back to top



H

Health Reference Center
Provides clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.

HeritageQuest
A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids, with coverage dating back to the 1700s.

History Research Center
Search all Infobase History databases for biographical information.

back to top



J

Job & Career Accelerator
Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, prepare for related exams and access millions of job listings

Joint Digital Archives of Scotch Plains and Fanwood
Access newspapers, yearbooks, ephemera, and more from Scotch Plains and Fanwood history.

back to top



L

LearningExpress Library
Online learning resource for academic and career development. Work on basic skills improvement in reading, writing, math, and basic sciences and test preparation for academic and career testing.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Covers subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, information retrieval, information management and more.

Literary Reference Center
Provides author biographies and information on literary works, including book reviews, literary criticism, and plot summaries.  Sources include journals, books, and encyclopedias.  Also includes full text of many poems and short stories.

back to top



M

Mango Languages
An online language learning program that offers access to 60 foreign language courses and 17 English courses taught completely in the user’s native language.

MAS Ultra – School Edition
Contains full text for high school-level magazines, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and images of photos, maps & flags.

MasterFILE Premier
A multi-subject database providing full text sources including magazines, primary source documents, reference books, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Middle Search Plus
Provides full text for popular, middle school-level magazines, as well as biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Military & Government Collection
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Modern World History Online
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from mid-15th century to the present.

back to top



N

Newswires
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.  Covers the past 30 days.

NoveList Plus
A reader’s advisory database that provides subject heading access, reviews and annotations for both fiction titles and nonfiction titles; and custom created articles and lists, including readalikes and book discussion questions.

back to top



O

Oxford Encyclopedia of Africa
A reference work covering the history, politics, and culture of Africa.



P

Points of View
Provides background, timelines, and pros and cons about a wide range of timely and sometimes controversial issues.

Primary Search
Full text for popular magazines for elementary school research.

back to top



R

Reference USA
Directory information on millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and residences. Search for businesses by category, size and geographic location. Search residences by name, location and phone number.

Referencia Latina
Referencia Latina, a comprehensive Spanish-language database, offers access to magazines; encyclopedias; images; health reports; and a Spanish-English dictionary.

Regional Business News
Full text coverage for regional business publications for the US and Canada. Coverage include franchise restaurants, the retail industry, and business planning.

Rosetta Stone
A language resource provided by the NJ State Library that includes 30 different languages.

back to top



S

Science Online
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Scholastic’s ScienceFlix
Combines curriculum-driven, leveled content, interactive features, and intuitive navigation into a single digital resource for students in grades 4 through 9. 

Scholastic’s BookFlix
Pairs classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic.

Scotch Plains Township
Official website of the Township of Scotch Plains.

Scotch Plains Township Codes & Ordinances
Codes and ordinances of Scotch Plains.

back to top



T

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts of journals and magazines for professional educators.

back to top



W

Web News
Provides near real-time access to thousands of business and general news feeds from around the globe.

World Almanac for Kids Online
Provides resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills. Contains biographical, career, history, science, and readers’ advisory resources.

World Book
Online encyclopedia of articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps

World Geography & Culture Online
Combines detailed, printable, full-color maps of countries, provinces, and states with up-to-date statistical and local information.

back to top


Databases by Subject

BiographyBooks & LiteratureBusiness InformationCareers & Lifelong LearningChildren’s ResourcesDictionaries, Encyclopedias & Facts| Educators’ Resources | Español | Genealogy & Local HistoryGovernment & LegalHealthHistory & Social Sciences | Homework Help | Languages | Magazine, Newspaper & Journal Articles | People LocatorScholarly ResourcesScience & Technology



Biography

History Research Center
Search all Infobase History databases for biographical information.

Literary Reference Center
Provides author biographies, and information on literary works, including book reviews, literary criticism, and plot summaries. Sources include journals, books, and encyclopedias. Also includes full text of many poems and short stories.

MAS Ultra – School Edition
Contains full text for high school-level magazines, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and images of photos, maps & flags.

Middle Search Plus
Provides full text for popular, middle school-level magazines, as well as biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Science Online
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

World Almanac for Kids Online
Provides resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills. Contains biographical, career, history, science, and readers’ advisory resources.

World Book
Online encyclopedia of articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps

back to top



Books & Literature

Bloom’s Literary Reference Online
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

Literary Reference Center
Provides author biographies and information on literary works, including book reviews, literary criticism, and plot summaries.  Sources include journals, books, and encyclopedias.  Also includes full text of many poems and short stories.

NoveList Plus
A reader’s advisory database that provides subject heading access, reviews and annotations for both fiction titles and nonfiction titles; and custom created articles and lists, including readalikes and book discussion questions.

Scholastic’s BookFlix
BookFlix pairs classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic. Currently unavailable as of 11/7/17. 

back to top



Business Information

Business Source Premier
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.

Corfacts NJ Businesses–in library
Online business directory of nearly 65,000 New Jersey businesses

Corfacts NJ Businesses–remote usage
Online business directory of nearly 65,000 New Jersey businesses

Reference USA
Directory information on millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and residences. Search for businesses by category, size and geographic location. Search residences by name, location and phone number.

Regional Business News
Full text coverage for regional business publications for the US and Canada. Coverage include franchise restaurants, the retail industry, and business planning.

back to top



Careers & Lifelong Learning

Computer Skills Center
Video courses to learn Word, Excel, and other popular software programs; introductory videos for new computer users covering the internet, email, and social media.

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 48,000 resource entries, and much more.

Job & Career Accelerator
Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, prepare for related exams and access millions of job listings

LearningExpress Library
Online learning resource for academic and career development. Work on basic skills improvement in reading, writing, math, and basic sciences and test preparation for academic and career testing.

Reference USA
Directory information on millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and residences. Search for businesses by category, size and geographic location. Search residences by name, location and phone number.

back to top



Children’s Resources

Primary Search
Full text for popular magazines for elementary school research.

Scholastic’s ScienceFlix
Combines curriculum-driven, leveled content, interactive features, and intuitive navigation into a single digital resource for students in grades 4 through 9. 

Scholastic’s BookFlix
Pairs classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic. 

World Almanac for Kids Online
Provides resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills. Contains biographical, career, history, science, and readers’ advisory resources.

World Book
Online encyclopedia of articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps.

back to top



Español

Referencia Latina
A comprehensive Spanish-language database, offering access to magazines; encyclopedias; images; health reports; and a Spanish-English dictionary.

back to top



Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Facts

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Africa
A reference work covering the history, politics, and culture of Africa.

World Almanac for Kids Online
Provides resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills. Contains biographical, career, history, science, and readers’ advisory resources.

World Book
Online encyclopedia of articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps

back to top



Educator’s Resources

Curriculum Resource Center
Provides a library of printable teacher-handout materials for middle school, high school, and junior college curriculum.

ERIC
Provides access to education journals and resources.

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts of journals and magazines for professional educators.

back to top



Genealogy & Local History

Ancestry Library
Genealogical and historical information from census, military, church, vital, court, land and probate records, passenger lists and more.

HeritageQuest
A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids, with coverage dating back to the 1700s.

Joint Digital Archives of Scotch Plains and Fanwood
Access newspapers, yearbooks, ephemera, and more from Scotch Plains and Fanwood history.

back to top



Government & Legal

Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.

Scotch Plains Township
Official website of the Township of Scotch Plains.

Scotch Plains Township Codes & Ordinances
Codes and ordinances of Scotch Plains.

back to top



Health

AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Provides patient education sheets for generic and brand name drugs.  Updated monthly and available in both English and Spanish.

Health Reference Center
Provides clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.

back to top



History & Social Sciences

Academic Search Premier
The world’s largest academic multi-subject database, offering magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.

African-American History Online
Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.

American History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.

American Indian History Online
Offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage.

American Women’s History Online
Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women’s history in the United States.

Ancient and Medieval History Online
Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.

History Research Center
Search all Infobase History databases for biographical information.

MasterFILE Premier
A multi-subject database providing full text sources including magazines, primary source documents, reference books, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Modern World History Online
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from mid-15th century to the present.
Images

Points of View
Provides background, timelines, and pros and cons about a wide range of timely and sometimes controversial issues.

World Geography & Culture Online
Combines detailed, printable, full-color maps of countries, provinces, and states with up-to-date statistical and local information.

back to top



Homework

Homework Help Page

back to top



Languages

Mango Languages
An online language learning program that offers access to 60 foreign language courses and 17 English courses taught completely in the user’s native language.

Rosetta Stone
A language resource provided by the NJ State Library that includes 30 different languages.

back to top



Magazine, Newspaper & Journal Articles

Academic Search Premier
The world’s largest academic multi-subject database, offering magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.

MasterFILE Premier
A multi-subject database providing full text sources including magazines, primary source documents, reference books, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Newswires
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.  Covers the past 30 days.

Web News
Provides near real-time access to thousands of business and general news feeds from around the globe.

back to top



People Locator

Reference USA
Directory information on millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and residences. Search for businesses by category, size and geographic location. Search residences by name, location and phone number.

back to top



Science & Technology

Academic Search Premier
The world’s largest academic multi-subject database, offering magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.

GreenFILE
Covers environmental topics such as global warming, alternate fuel sources and more. Scholarly and general interest sources, as well as government documents and reports.

MasterFILE Premier
A multi-subject database providing full text sources including magazines, primary source documents, reference books, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Science Online
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Scholastic’s ScienceFlix
Combines curriculum-driven, leveled content, interactive features, and intuitive navigation into a single, highly-engaging digital resource for students in grades 4 through 9. Currently unavailable as of 11/7/17. 

back to top



Scholarly Resources

Academic Search Premier
The world’s largest academic multi-subject database, offering magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

GreenFILE
Covers environmental topics such as global warming, alternate fuel sources and more. Scholarly and general interest sources, as well as government documents and reports.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides academic journal articles on many medical disciplines.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Covers subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, information retrieval, information management and more.

back to top